you've seen it all before..

The Fate of My Blog…

I’ve decided to answer questions in a Usability Test to figure out how my blog is shaping up. It’s my first blog ever, so I don’t have very high hopes.

 Use of Media:

  • Images: provides images and other media? No, I have not used images or other media in my blog. I could have used some images/videos when talking about the TED Talks or SecondLife.
  • Site: If mentioning a site: provides link/screenshot/logo of site? I have not used links or logos in my blog either. I could have used screenshots, links or logos when referencing the blogs I was going to follow.
  • Video: If mentioning a video, embeds video? No I have not embedded any videos. I could have with the TED Talks or Epic 2015
  • Links/urls: If mentioning a link, provides url? I have not mentioned links, so I have not provided urls.
  • Citations: If mentioning a blog/blogger, provide trackback? I do not know what a trackback is but I know I have not used any.
  • Other Media: If mentioning a book, film, etc., provides link. (Author’s site, Amazon, IMDB, etc.) I did not do this either, if I had I could of put a link to Ken Robinson’s website since it is actually pretty cool.

 Scan-ability:

  • Is the text in large intimidating chunks or is it scannable/skimmable?  Are long entries divided with subtitles or images? (22-23) I don’t really think I use intimidating chunks of texts… I believe it’s pretty skimmable but I do not seperate it with subtitles or images, which is something I could definitely try.
  • Are long entries portioned out into clearly defined areas? (36-37) I don’t believe I have too long of entries, but since there’s always room for improvement, I do suppose I could shorten some of them.

 Design:

  • Design: Does the overall design work for the site? (123-129) What strikes you about the site? (150) While I am just using someone else’s template, I do believe the design works for my blog and for my personality, hence why I chose it!
  • Text/font: Is the text font, size, color clear and readable? I believe that the text font, size, and color are readable and clear. But, if you don’t agree,  please tell me!
  • Color: Is the use of color distracting? Complimentary? (165) This will be my first post with any colors besides black, so I can’t say for sure right now, but whoever critiques me can decide
  • Noise: Busyness? (38, 183-184) Is there too much going on? Can it be minimized? Background noise? (38-39) Can it be minimized? I actually think it’s pretty quiet. The template I chose is really only distracting at the very top which I think is okay….
  • Do entries contain needless words? (45-49) Definitely. My posts could stand a little editing I suppose. As an english major, I tend to carry on more than I should.
  • Is site navigation obvious? (54-63) Does it rely on conventions? (51, 54-63) I believe the navigation is done very well. I had no part in it but I do believe it uses conventions well.
  • Blog Title and Tagline: is tagline descriptive or engaging?  (14, 101- 106) The title is just “Emily’s Blog”… pretty boring, I could try and think of something new. And there is no tagline so I could do that as well.
  • About Section: Is the blog concept clear? (101, 144 & 156) Do you understand the purpose of the site, do you “Get it?” Please see “happy talk” section, too. (46) I think the about me section explains what my blog is about, although it’s slightly vague. I do wish the about my section was visible from the front though and not on its own page, but I have no idea how I’d change that.
  • Structure/Organization: Amateurish vs. Professional: (Is the site sloppy or neat and clear? Disorganized or organized? Professional or unprofessional?(165 166) I’d say it looks more amateurish than professional but I think it’s very neat and clear!
  • Accessibility: Is appropriate “alt text” added to every image? (179) I’m lame and have not used images yet.
One response

  1. Phil

    Ok I already did this but the connection got lost and so did my comment. So this time I’m gonna be mean. Just kidding.

    I like the overall design of the blog, and upon first glance I think it looks nice. I think you could use some images or videos, as we could all, to make the site a little more interesting and cooler looking. I noticed that in your post about your favorite blogs, there are no links linking the sites that you mention. Maybe doing that would be convinient for the reader and so they can understand more about what you’re talking about.

    I don’t think you have too many large chunks of text intimidating the reader, except maybe your first post, but other than that it’s gotten much better! I think it’s well organized and you clearly state what you’re talking about with all your posts which is good.

    I think the top of the blog’s design looks cool and then it’s plain at the bottom which I also like. Because there’s nothing too distracting and it’s simple enough to navigate through and follow. I think the fonts, colors, and backgrounds work well with the blog and you should probably keep it the way it is. I can tell it’s by an amatuer blogger, but it’s structured professionally! There might be some needless words, but I think everyone’s could be shorter and more to the point, more user friendly for the reader, eventhough I don’t think yours is bad at all, just saying.

    I like the About section because it gives us a good idea of who you are and what you are writing about. I think this is good information for the reader. You could probably change the blog name, but I have faith that you can come up with something cool. I like that the whole blog is really clear and easy to read. Umm, that’s all I got, sorry my other comment was better. But I really like the blog, and just think there could be some minor changes to make it look nicer and engage the reader to make some interesting comments!

    September 16, 2009 at 4:40 pm

Leave a Reply

