you've seen it all before..

The Talented Mr. Murch…

After reading the first chapter of The Conversations (Walter Murch and the Art of Editing Film) by Michael Ondaatje, I know I will probably never watch movies the same again. I never knew that so much went into just the sounds in a film. Walter Murch deals with so much detail; he puts so much effort and time into things that some people will never notice but the film would be incomplete without.

I most enjoyed whenever they brought up The Talented Mr. Ripley, it was the only movie mentioned that I have actually seen AND it happens to be one of my favorites. Although now, I think I’ll probably rent Apocolypse, Now because the short amount that we saw in class was very interesting. I think it would also be beneficial for me to see it since it is mentioned so much in this book we’re reading.

The Talented Mr. Ripley << this is a scene from The Talented Mr. Ripley!

Overall, I really like the book so far. It’s a very cool format and keeps things interesting the entire time. I absolutely love the pictures. I just flip through it and read the captions and think they are all just so beautiful and interesting.

Leave a Reply

